Injuries and running–prevention, avoidance and rehabilitation.


Runners are fantastic people.  Just ask anyone that works with runners and they will tell you why.  They are iconoclastic, often obdurate and stubborn, and are more likely to try to deal with problems (read: injuries, major or minor) on their own.  You might remember that I’m taking a Yoga for Runners class – well, last week, our substitute was pleased to remind us that runners are some of the least flexible people he has ever worked with, and that really we should stretch more, etc.  While these statements are quite often broad, sweeping generalizations, there is one phrase that gets uttered quite often amongst runners:

I can just run through it!  I’ll just run it out.

This phrase, more than any other, likely accounts for the aggravation of more running injuries than any other.  And I should know.  This fall, I suffered a bout of completely debilitating plantar fasciitis, for which I finally had to break down and seek some physiotherapy.  I say I suffered from it in the fall – in actuality, I know it started in July and I thought I would just run through it and deal it that way.  Likewise, I know @momma2macy has recently started on a 10k training program (go girl!!!) and has also been seeking some physio for shin splints which showed up out of nowhere; she at least sought treatment quicker than I did.  She did say she was too busy icing her shins to actually have time to add anything to this week’s post.

There are some great tips out there on the difference between pushing through the pain of training and pushing yourself until you hurt.  It’s very important to know the difference between the two.  You can go somewhere like Runner’s World Magazine and do a search on “injury prevention”, and you will find a whole ton of articles for dealing with injuries to every single part of your battered and weary body.  However, there are some really common running injuries, and I found a quick infographic (I do love infographics!) that really highlight the major ones:

What a great bit of advice, not just on identifying the injuries, but also the tips on both prevention and treatment.  I will agree with the idea that if things persist go and see someone.  I also found a great podcast on injuries from greatist.com, a website you should really visit if you can.

And don’t think these things happen in isolation, either.  My plantar fasciitis lead to poor running form, which lead to a sore lower back many mornings.  Really, it was just not fun.

My best suggestion?  Injuries aren’t something you can just “run out” - well, at least not if you are my age.  If you are showing signs of injury or have suffered a sprain or strain that lasts more than 72 hours, go seek out some help.  I was totally amazed at how quickly I was getting back on the road with a little physiotherapy.

Leave a Reply

