Sometimes inspiration comes from unexpected places.


So I just finished a run through Edmonton’s beautiful river valley.  It’s a sunny day, I still do miss this city, and it was one of those minor life-list things that I can now “tick” – running from the pedestrian bridge East of downtown to the pedestrian bridge just West of the High-Level bridge, over and back.  You can see the route here.  It was truly a beautiful run.

When I got back in the Elevator in my hotel, I was riding up with an older couple.  The two looked happy and healthy, but also didn’t appear to be all that active – and there they were, trapped with sweaty old me.  I was surprised when the fellow leaned over and asked “good run?”.  I got to tell them that it was, and tell them about Edmonton’s great river valley, and how beautiful it is.  (I left out the part about the massive stairway up MacDougall hill – that would kill them).

When they left the elevator, I realized something: I look like a runner.  That made me really happy.  Thank you, kind sir.

One thought on “Sometimes inspiration comes from unexpected places.

Leave a Reply

