The complete guide to calories


I admit, I love infographics, as they put a whole bunch of useful information into a tight, colourful, easy to read format. One of my favourite websites, greatist.com, is a fantastic source of information over three categories: health, fitness and happiness, and also have a history of putting out fantastic infographics like the one below.

If you’ve ever wondered what healthy eating and a healthy calorie intake is all about, take the time to read this.  If you’ve ever wondered how your body uses the calories you take in, see below.  I loved the calories from carbs vs. protein and fat (the fat number is crazy), which kind of proves my belief in a low fat and balanced diet, vs. “cut this” or “cut that” kind of diets.  They point out, for example, that carbs are the body’s main source of fuel – which I think we all learned in grade 9 or 10 biology class.  I know my girlfriend is going to kill me for saying it, because she’s cut her carb intake over the last bit, but I’m a big believer in balance.

It also has a great calorie calculator – what you should take in each day to maintain your body weight.  Given my activity level, I’m allowed about 4,000 calories per day, although I know I’m way under that amount.  The calorie calculation is a great way to judge not just where you are, but where you want to be.  Work with that and something like the Canada Food Guide, and you will be off on a great start to managing your own calories.

Here’s my other suggestion: all the stuff you hear and see on the radio and TV, about new studies and health and what to eat and what not to eat?  They’re all telling you the same thing – don’t eat junk.  Quick eating the junk you are eating.  Shop the outer aisles of the grocery store where the whole and unprocessed foods are.  Read labels.  Choose your food mindfully, and worry about your overall health less as a result.

Image credit: greatist.com

Leave a Reply

