Run for the Cure 2013


This year I am once again signed up for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation’s CIBC Run for the Cure, this year taking place on Sunday, October 6, 2013.  As I will be in a conference this year, and thereby unable to run in my home city of Vancouver, I’ve arranged to run with a few colleagues in Victoria, B.C.  However, this year has much more meaning to me than years past, and it isn’t because of the beautiful setting in the provincial capital, although that is an added bonus to be sure.

The run for the cure has been quite important for me ever since I began fundraising through it, and this will be the third year that I have participated in the event.  While in years past I’ve been running because I’ve known so many women who were affected by the disease, I have an especially important reason this year.  After a 10 year battle with breast cancer, which spread throughout her body, we lost my mother to the disease on September 3, 2013.

In years past, I’ve had some fun surrounding this run, as many do.  Many of the team names are saucy and somewhat suggestive, and I think that’s fantastic.  Over the coming days, I’ll get my ridiculous sense of humour back, I’m sure.  In the meantime, I just wanted to ask for you to think about those in your life that this disease has touched, and consider making a donation.  My plea is simple:

  • If you are walking, running or volunteering, thanks.  Go and do your deed.  Raise funds.  Plant flowers.  Be karmically happy.
  • If you know someone who is walking or running, sponsor them, especially if they have boobs of their own.
  • If no one closer to you than me has asked you to donate, consider yourself formally asked.  Donate to my run. I’m raising money.   You can do so quickly and easily at my donation page.

$20 gets you a tax receipt.  $40 gets you good karma.  $50 or more might get you your mojo back.  C’mon. I truly only have the breast of intentions.

Leave a Reply

