The 6 Most Shockingly Irresponsible “Fitspiration” Photos [Re-blog]



I’m a big proponent of those inspirational pictures that are all over the web, so much so that I post them, regularly.  I try to post ones that touch me, that mean something to me, and that carry a good message, one that truly inspires.  Another member of the blogosphere has listed The 6 Most Shockingly Irresponsible “Fitspiration” Photos (in his mind), and reviewing his list I would have to say I agree.  They are shockingly irresponsible and they can carry a harmful message.

I’m about not giving up.  I’m about pushing yourself.  I’m about doing things, in the words of JFK, “not because they are easy… but because they are hard”.  I don’t do it for the acclamation of others, I do it for myself, and some of these little phrases that are popping up all over actually help to push me.  They stick in the back of my mind, and help to ensure that I do get my ass off the couch, that I do push my mind and conquer the mattress.  They keep me motivated and I post them in the hopes that they motivate you as well (all three of the readers that I have).

That being said, I’ve not ever been overly critical of the ones that I’ve posted before I blog them here.  I’ve not analyzed what they say, what their content is, or what they might mean to those that do struggle with body image – lord knows I struggle with it, every day.  The one that got me was the one I’ve posted to the right.  I have to admit, if I took that to heart, I would never stop – because I will never be done, I don’t think.  I’m not sure I will ever be happy with how I am, and to a great extent that is human nature. The author of this article, a renowned pilates instructor, makes the point that we shouldn’t be trying to inspire anyone by shaming them, we should just plain inspire them.

I’m going to keep trying to inspire, and I’m going to keep working on myself, and working to be less hard on myself than I always have.  I’m sure I will be successful at one of those three things, and hopefully all of them to a certain degree.  I want to thank Kevin Moore, who you can follow at @reembodyme, who really clarified for me the damage that trying to inspire and motivate can do if it comes from the wrong place, and comes without heart.

Now if you’ll excuse me I have to go and do some sit-ups, then go for a run – most likely in the rain – and have a very long talk with myself about how hard I am on me.

Leave a Reply

