A two month recap


It’s been quite a while since I’ve posted anything new up here on the blog, since Canadian Thanksgiving in fact – and now American Thanksgiving is there in the rear-view mirror.  Going from a daily occurrence to absolutely nothing should never be allowed, but of course that’s the way of it for most of the pages in the blogosphere.  I didn’t really mean for it to happen, it just did, and it’s mostly because I was a bit busy, and needed a bit of a break.  However, I want to get right back to it, so here is a bit of an update, shamelessly about me.

There have been some interesting things that have happened over the past couple of months, some of which I’m really proud of even if the results were not what I had hoped.

  • I played squash for the first time in years, and quite enjoyed it.  It was an interesting break from my normal routine, and a challenge for my racquet-playing skills.  I don’t think I will be picking it up as a full-time sport anytime soon, but I really liked it.  I have to admit that most of the squash players at my club are more “social” – there is more of a “hang out after the game and have a beer” spirit about the squash section than there is about the badminton section.


  • The weekend of October 25th-27th I played in the 2013 VRC Masters Badminton Tournament.   Result: quickly eliminated in all three events I entered.  But I entered, and competed.  This group of folks, the tournament players, are actually quite social, and I’ve enjoyed getting to know several of them at this tournament and at the Canadian Masters Championships that I played in in April (where my results were, sadly, identical).  I am playing in 40+ which is the hardest of all the categories, I’m told.


  • I took a one week holiday to Cuba, where I did some scuba diving – and made a small bit of peace with myself that I’m in ok shape (for a guy my age).  A very small bit of peace.  However, I renewed my love of diving and just being in the ocean in general, and as I always do I resolved that I have to do it more often.


  • I went on a business trip and totally avoided going to the hotel gym – shame on me.  I slept wonderfully and comfortably.  I love sleep.


  • I’ve purchased some new tech – a GPS watch from Suunto and data-tracking (step counters and a scale) from Fitbit.  No, absolutely not, no way will I be posting my weight on the blog, but the logging and accuracy aspects of all of these gadgets are quite cool.  I’ll be doing an actual review of each of these devices soon.


  • I skied my first day of the season on November 29th at Whistler.  The snow is not there yet as we have had a remarkably dry fall and early winter here on the (normally) Wet Coast, and the snow is only down to mid-mountain.  It got skied off and fairly icy pretty quickly, but it was still a day on the slopes and fantastic fun.


  • I swam my first laps in a pool earlier this week, or at least the first laps where I was making a concerted effort to swim as exercise and not swim as recreation.  I have to admit that 300 meters is a long way, and I had to stop after every 25 meter length.  The last time I swam that distance would have been back when I was pursuing my Bronze Medallion when I was about 18 years old. This will definitely be something I go back and do again over the winter.


  • I have started on a program of weight training, sit-ups, and push-ups – again.  I’ve also taken to tracking my food intake for a week and really watching what I eat in a way that I haven’t since I was on my path of weight loss.


Of all the months this year, November was probably the most INactive month I’ve had all year long, but the last couple of months have also been a month of firsts.  I’m upping my activity again in December, but November is still one of those things that will kind of bug me – but I can train my way out of that!

Leave a Reply

