My goals for 2014


Much like I did for 2013, I want to post my goals for 2014.  Not surprisingly, many of them are fitness related, and these are the ones I’m going to blog about here.  Some of them are recycles from last year – it happens to everyone – but here for some kind of permanent internet record are my goals. (Note they are all SMART goals).

Goal

Timeline

Notes

Trim to my goal weigh Complete by February 28, 2014 I’ve got some weight to lose, in my own mind.  Sound familiar?
Weight Training 3 times per week Stopped and started like a smoker trying to quit.  Start 1st week of January. The result will be more toning and definition – not bulk
Complete the 100 pushups challenge Completed by April 30, 2013.  Again, the smoker thing. The result is to complete the goddamned thing as I’ve tried it so many times – I fucking hate pushups
Complete the 200 situps challenge Completed by April 30, 2013.  Again, the smoker thing. The result is to complete the goddamned thing as I’ve tried it so many times – I hate situps too, but they are good for you, like your mother’s bran muffins.
Swim 40 lengths once per week Ongoing I’ve already started this and am really enjoying it.
Bike 50km per week in good weather Starting April-May, 2014 and ongoing This is one of the goals I was successful at last year.  Recycle.
Play in 4 badminton tournaments in 2014 Starting January 2014, and ongoing. I played in 2 in 2013 with terrible results.  Better luck this year, with a stronger focus on training.
Take yoga for runners Ongoing I’ve now taken a runner’s yoga class for the past year and really enjoy it.  Check one out.
Health and diet maintenance Ongoing This is related to goal number one.  My biggest issue will be diet, and I have an upcoming post about why.
Run 1000 km in 2013, and run 156 times this year. Ongoing I’ve never hit the 1000km  mark.  I had thought last year I would hit over that but alas, I have not.  I also want to consistently book 3 runs per week.
Monitor my food one week per month. The first week of every month. I monitored my food intake for 2 weeks late this year and was amazed at the difference that made.
Monitor my weight, activity and sleep. Ongoing This is an ongoing thing bordering on near obsession.  I also want to get more sleep this year than I did last year, as I think that will really contribute to my overall health.  Thank you, fitbit.
Sign up for a sprint triathlon Summer 2014 I’ve been toying with this for months, and to hell with it.  I’m going to try a sprint tri.  Perhaps in Squamish, where my kids live.

I’ve posted before about what I failed to achieve in 2013, here and here.  I have to do a 2013 recap on what I have actually achieved, and will do so in the coming days as I spend time reviewing my year.  Thanks everyone for reading, and good luck with your goals!

On a side note, one of the things I love about 2013 was that I had over 3000 views this year – more views in one year than in all the previous 3 years combined (just over 2800).  I’m humbled and flattered by that.  Thank you.  My goal for next year is truly ambitions – I want over 10,000 views, and have no idea how I’m going to get them.  Maybe you can help by signing up in the box to the right, and you’ll be able to keep up to date with my posts and help spread the word by sharing on Facebook and Twitter.

On a second side note: thank fuck 2013 is over.  I really hated this year, it was shitty on 19 different levels, and i am looking forward to a new 2014 and a better year going forward.

Thanks all and here’s to you hitting your goals in 2014!

One thought on “My goals for 2014

  1. Pingback: My stats for 2013 | Big Man - Big Loser

Leave a Reply

